Goverment Overview

City Hall

The City of Marion is governed by a Mayor-Council form of government. Within this form of governance, the elected Mayor is the chief administrative officer for the city with a council-appointed administrator to assist the day-to-day governing.

The City Council is the legislative board of city government and includes the Mayor (elected every four years) and six council members, each representing an electoral district and each serving a four-year term.

The mayor is the presiding officer of the council. A mayor pro-tempore is selected from the council members and serves as mayor in the absence of the mayor. City council sets and directs policy regarding the operations of city government.

Marion's elections are non-partisan and held in odd-numbered years. Residents may call the Marion County Voters Registration and Election Commission at 843-423-8268 for information about elections.